Archaeologists are conducting excavations to uncover two buildings, the remains of the mid-19th century First Baptist Church and a smaller building that preceded it. The earlier building, referred to as the Baptist Meeting House in an 1818 tax document is thought to have housed the congregation prior to the construction of the church. That structure was replaced in 1856 by the brick church that stood on the corner of Nassau and Francis Streets until the congregation relocated in 1956.
Come Explore In Person
Patriots at Play
Participate in the daily activities of an 18th century family at the Geddy site.
Explore the cells where prisoners were held as they awaited trial and punishment.
African American Religion
A Religion of Their Own
Open to the Public