Ornamental Separator


The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation distributes press releases and statements from leadership on issues related to the educational mission of the Foundation. As an American Alliance of Museums (AAM) accredited museum and the world’s largest living history museum staffed with experts in fields including 18th-century history, preservation, conversation, archaeology, historic interpretation, and traditional trades, the Foundation serves as a resource to scholars, cultural organizations, and media outlets worldwide. Visit the Newsroom for information on arranging interviews, production guidelines, and media opportunities.

Williamsburg Award

The Williamsburg Award is the Foundation's highest honor given in acknowledgment of an “outstanding contribution to the historic struggle of individuals to live free and self-respecting in a just society.” In 2021, retired U.S. Supreme Court Justice Anthony M. Kennedy joined Sir Winston Churchill as the only two recipients of the Williamsburg Award.

Churchill Bell recipients

The Churchill Bell evolved from the first Williamsburg Award and has been awarded only 13 times since its creation in 1992 in recognition of exemplary stewardship and outstanding service to The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Recipients include: 

  • Abby M. O’Neill and the members of the Rockefeller family, 1992
  • George V. Grune, Chairman and CEO, and the employees of the Reader’s Digest Association, 1992
  • Ambassador and Mrs. Walter H. Annenberg, 1993
  • Joseph and June Hennage, 1994
  • William and Gretchen Kimball, 2000
  • Bob and Marion Wilson, 2002
  • Ann Lee Saunders Brown and Charles L. Brown, 2004
  • Jim Lehrer, 2011
  • Sandra Day O’Connor, 2011
  • Gordon Wood, 2011 
  • Forrest E. Mars Jr., 2013
  • Colin and Nancy Campbell, 2014
  • Anthony M. Kennedy, 2021